Movement researcher Ann Hutchinson. Photos courtesy of the Martha Hill Dance Fund

On November 21, the Martha Hill Dance Fund honors two women with the Lifetime Achievement Award: movement researcher Ann Hutchinson Guest and dance writer Deborah Jowitt. Choreographer Frederick Earl Mosley receives the MHDF Mid-Career Award.

Keep reading... Show less

Next month, the American Dance Festival will honor modern dance choreographer Lar Lubovitch with the 2016 Samuel H. Scripps/American Dance Festival Award for lifetime achievement. The $50,000 prize is awarded annually.

Lar Lubovitch with Alexander Sergeyev and Svetlana Ivanova of the Mariinsky Ballet

Lubovitch founded the New York City–based Lar Lubovitch Dance Company in 1968. He has choreographed more than 110 dances for his company, as well as work for Broadway, film and ice dancing. He also established the Chicago Dancing Festival, an annual gathering of American dance companies to perform in Chicago.

Photo courtesy of ADF

Don't miss a single issue of Dance Teacher.

Franco De Vita is the director of American Ballet Theatre's Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School and the 2014 recipient of the Dance Teacher Lifetime Achievement Award. Here, he breaks down pas de chat, emphasizing retiré to help students maintain their turnout.

Get Dance Business Weekly in your inbox

Sign Up Used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.